Board of Directors

Prevention First seeks individuals to serve on its Board of Directors who share its passion for providing leadership in the prevention of youth substance abuse.

Other board member requirements include regular attendance at board business meetings, participation in an annual board retreat, raising funds on behalf of the organization, and making a personal financial contribution. For further information regarding board membership or to request an application, please contact Ms. Karel Homrig, Executive Director (800) 252-8951, ext. 103.

Applications to the board are accepted throughout the year and reviewed by Prevention First's Board Governance Committee. Eligible applicants will be invited to participate in an interview with one of the committee members to ensure that there is mutual benefit for the applicant and the organization. The committee will recommend selected applicants to the board of directors during its regular business meetings, which take place 5-6 times per year. Board members commit to a three-year term, which can be renewed twice, at the discretion of the board member or the organization.

Board of Directors


Nate Roberts
Executive Director
Strive Consulting

Vice Chairperson

Elizabeth Aquino, R.N., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
DePaul University School of Nursing 


Michael Varlotta
Labor Relations Director and Special Labor Counsel
Illinois Department of Transportation 


Michael Diaz
Executive Associate Director
Office for Access and Equity - University of Illinois at Chicago


Jeff Cox
Senior Public Administrator
Department of Agriculture

Fausto Lopez
After School and Expanded Learning Consultant 
American Institutes for Research

Dominic Cottone
Managing Director
Ferguson Partners

Jill Grove
Coordinator of Culture and Leadership
Springfield Public Schools

Xadrian McCraven
Senior Policy Advisor/Parole Reentry Group Administrator
Illinois Department of Corrections

Karel Homrig
Executive Director
Prevention First