Prevention First seeks individuals to serve on its Board of Directors who share its passion for providing leadership in preventing youth substance use. 

Other board member requirements include regular attendance at board business meetings, participation in an annual board retreat, raising funds on behalf of the organization, and making a personal financial contribution. For further information regarding board membership or to request an application, please contact Ms. Karel Homrig, Executive Director (800) 252-8951, ext. 103.

Applications to the board are accepted throughout the year and reviewed by Prevention First's Board Governance Committee. Eligible applicants will be invited to participate in an interview with one of the committee members to ensure that there is a mutual benefit for the applicant and the organization. The committee will recommend selected applicants to the board of directors during its regular business meetings, which take place 5-6 times per year. Board members commit to a three-year term, which can be renewed twice, at the discretion of the board member or the organization.

Board of Directors


Diana Derige
Director, Health Equity Strategy & Development
American Medical Association 

Vice Chairperson

Michael Diaz
Director & Title IX Officer
Office for the Prevention of Harassment and Discrimination-University of California San Diego


Michael Varlotta
Labor Relations Director & Special Employment Council
Department of Transportation, Illinois


Jill Grove
Springfield Public Schools


Jeff Cox
Former Bureau Chief-Bureau of Medicinal Plants
Department of Agriculture

Fausto Lopez, M.Ed.
Youth Development Specialist
American Institutes for Research

Colin Cordwell
Red Lion Pub

Xadrian McCraven
Senior Policy Advisor
Illinois Department of Corrections

Karel Homrig
Executive Director
Prevention First