Board of Directors

Prevention First seeks individuals to serve on its Board of Directors who share its passion for providing leadership in the prevention of youth substance abuse.

Other board member requirements include regular attendance at board business meetings, participation in an annual board retreat, raising funds on behalf of the organization, and making a personal financial contribution. For further information regarding board membership or to request an application, please contact Ms. Karel Homrig, Executive Director (800) 252-8951, ext. 103.

Applications to the board are accepted throughout the year and reviewed by Prevention First's Board Governance Committee. Eligible applicants will be invited to participate in an interview with one of the committee members to ensure that there is mutual benefit for the applicant and the organization. The committee will recommend selected applicants to the board of directors during its regular business meetings, which take place 5-6 times per year. Board members commit to a three-year term, which can be renewed twice, at the discretion of the board member or the organization.

Board of Directors


James McLean
Vice President
Operations Subscriber Services Division
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois

Vice Chairperson

Kristine Cieslak, M.D.
Attending Physician
Lurie Children's Hospital 


Nathan Roberts
Managing Director
Slalom Consulting


Michael Diaz
Legal Counsel
Illinois Department of Professional Regulation


Jeff Cox
Assistant State Attorney
Sangamon County State's Attorney's Office

Dominic Cottone
Managing Director 
Ferguson Partners

Elena Holler
Health and Wellness Director
Springfield YMCA

Michael Kokal
Heyl Royster

Fausto Lopez
After School and Expanded Learning Consultant
American Institutes for Research

Karel Homrig
Executive Director
Prevention First